The Rocky Road to Publication: One Writer’s Experience

A fellow writer is having trouble with his publisher. He recently asked me if that was usual. I explained how that LILI’S GIFT, my fourth historical novel for kids, took three years to appear. There was a problem with the cover, and the publisher had to find a new artist to create it.  For my next novel, I had it written into my contract that it would appear in 18 months. And even with that deadline, I was looking at proofs at the very last-minute in order to get the book out in 18 months.

For my first adult novel, I hoped to speed up the process by overseeing the publishing process myself.

I thought I’d be ready to publish THE VISCOUNT’S DAUGHTER around Valentine’s Day, 2013.  Shortly before then, I learned I was one of ten finalists for the James River Writers Best Unpublished Novel Contest. So, I couldn’t go ahead and publish the book–since the contest was for unpublished novels–until the winners were announced at the end of May or early in June.

Since the novel is part of a trilogy, I turned my attention on Volume Two: THE VISCOUNTESS.  On June 10, I learned I was one of two contest finalists. So I could go ahead and publish the book. With my prize money, I hired a formatting expert, Rebecca, at IndeMobi e-book Formatting. She did a great job.

When I saw the book in proof, I needed to make corrections and have Rebecca format the manuscript again. Alas, Rebecca was going away on vacation for the month of July.

Taking yet another delay in stride, I decided that since I had poked at the manuscript so much it might be well to use that time to have a professional proofread the book. I contacted one of my LinkedIn connections, and she told me she could have it back to me in two weeks, three at the most.

I  also used the delay to get new cards made. My cover designer, Ravven helped me out with the new cards I displayed earlier on this sight. I’ve been delighted with them. Contact Ravven at: http://Ravven.com

I’ve been promising fans that the book would be available the first week in August. But alas, my proofreader had a personal emergency and asked for another week. Things happen, but I was disappointed. On the other hand, I was pleased that my proofreader wanted to do a good job on the manuscript.

One of these days THE VISCOUNT’S DAUGHTER will be available. When it is, I’m sure someone will ask me when my next book is coming out. I may strangle them on the spot.

About medievalphyllis

I love history and I love writing. I've been working on an historical novel about a medieval viscountess, Ermengarde of Narbonne since 2009. It has been quite a journey and the journey isn't over. Previously I written 6 historical novels for kids, but this is a new challenge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Rocky Road to Publication: One Writer’s Experience

  1. Russ says:

    Great story, and one familiar to us. We’re expecting SECOND WIND to go to the printer tomorrow, but then we’ll be out of pocket for more than two weeks and unable to review page proofs. When will the book appear? Heaven knows, but hopefully the worst bloopers will have been removed by then.

Leave a Reply

