a medieval minute: pregnant Madonnas

Spain, Santiago de Compostela, Cathedral de Santiago, statue of the pregnant Madona, Icon

Spain, Santiago de Compostela, Cathedral de Santiago, statue of the pregnant Madonna

When I arrived in Santiago de Compostela, I was surprised in the Cathedral to see a statue of an expecting Virgin Mary. I don’t recall ever having seen one before. Most usually, we see pictures of Virgin and child. However, I’ve learned there are a number of paintings and statues of the pregnant Madonna.

This is often called the Virgin with the spinning wheel, but she is clearly pregnant.

This is often called the Virgin with the spinning wheel, but she is clearly pregnant.

I like this picture because the Virgin looks happy.

I like this picture because the Virgin looks happy.

I wasn’t surprised to learn that during the reformation the Roman Catholic Church attacked these images as indecent. I wonder how many paintings and statues were destroyed. That might explain why I hadn’t seen any.

You might be interested in:

https://www.newscientist.com/gallery/dn16745-visible-embryos/

If you like learning about the medieval world, read my latest novel about Viscountess Ermengarde of Narbonne, The Viscountess and the Templars.

Please support the book on Kindle Scout.
If the book is chosen, you’ll receive a free copy.
https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/IOMBJIB4T9BO

About medievalphyllis

I love history and I love writing. I've been working on an historical novel about a medieval viscountess, Ermengarde of Narbonne since 2009. It has been quite a journey and the journey isn't over. Previously I written 6 historical novels for kids, but this is a new challenge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

