a medieval minute: coifs

Wearing a coif while working in the fields.

Wearing a coif while working in the fields.


Wearing a coif in bed.

Wearing a coif in bed.


Other examples of coifs.

Other examples of coifs.

The most common medieval head covering for both men and women of all classes was the coif. A coif was a tight fitting cap that tied under the chin. People wore coifs to bed, knights wore them under their mail and helmets, and peasants wore them at work. Although their use was widespread, I don’t recall ever seeing one in a feature-length film. When I was eight, I went to summer camp for one week. I wore my yellow cottom bucket hat all week and never had to comb my hair. I imagine wearing a coif was convenient for the same reason.

To read more about coifs:
http://rosaliegilbert.com/coifs.html

Please support my medieval novel, The Viscountess and the Templars on Kindle Scout.
If the book is chosen, you’ll receive a free copy.
https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/IOMBJIB4T9BO

About medievalphyllis

I love history and I love writing. I've been working on an historical novel about a medieval viscountess, Ermengarde of Narbonne since 2009. It has been quite a journey and the journey isn't over. Previously I written 6 historical novels for kids, but this is a new challenge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

