a medieval minute: Saint Lawrence

Saint Lawrence being placed on the grill.

Saint Lawrence being placed on the grill.

Saint Lawrence with his attribute, a gridiron.

Saint Lawrence with his attribute, a gridiron.

Saintlawrence3saintlawarnce4SaintLawrence5

I grew up in St. Lawrence County in Northern New York. Much of the county abutted the St. Lawrence River and Seaway. But I never knew anything about Saint Lawrence. He was an early Christian martyr who suffered a horrific death by being grilled on a gridiron. His identifying attribute subsequently was a gridiron. In legend, he is said to have told his Roman tormentors: “Turn me over; I’m done on this side!”

To learn more about Saint Lawrence:
http://britishlibrary.typepad.co.uk/digitisedmanuscripts/2014/08/happy-st-lawrences-day.html

My medieval novels are available on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Viscounts-Daughter-Narbonne-Inheritance/dp/1492113301

About medievalphyllis

I love history and I love writing. I've been working on an historical novel about a medieval viscountess, Ermengarde of Narbonne since 2009. It has been quite a journey and the journey isn't over. Previously I written 6 historical novels for kids, but this is a new challenge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

